Clay Co. KY News

LIST: All Clay County, Kentucky Candidates currently running for Local Offices in upcoming 2022 General Election on Tuesday, November 8th

Election Report by volunteer Brent Willoughby

Clay County, KY - With the General Election of November 8th, 2022, less than 2 months away the citizens of Clay County will have to consider the following candidates for local office(s). 

It is important to note that several candidates are running unopposed either after winning in their respective primaries and/or lack of opposition.  Potential Write-In candidates may refer to KRS 117.265 for guidance.  The below candidates are listed according to ballot position.

Nonpartisan Race=(NP), Republican=(R), Democrat=(D), Independent=(I)

Property Valuation Administrator

  • Paul G. Durham (R)

County Judge Executive

  • Tommy Harmon (R)
  • Jeffrey Todd Croucher (D)

County Attorney

  • Joseph C. "Joe" White (R)

County Clerk

  • Beverly G. Craft (R)

County Sheriff

  • Patrick Robinson (R)

County Jailer

  • Linda Smallwood (R)
  • Wendell Keen (I)

County Coroner

  • Jarrod Lee Becknell (R)

Magistrate - District 1

  • Russell "Rabbit" Smith (R)
  • Michael Caudill (D)

Constable - District 1

  • H.K. Tyrone Salyers (R)

Magistrate - District 2

  • Sonya Hoskins-Gray (R)

Constable - District 2

  • Anthony Wagers (R)

Magistrate - District 3

  • Sonny Gay (R)
  • Glenn Smith (I)

Constable - District 3

  • Harvey Dean Collins (R)

Magistrate - District 4

  • Chris Smith (R)

Constable - District 4

  • Elvis Smith (R)

Magistrate 5

  • Jerry Combs (R)
  • Joan Swafford Brown (D)

Constable 5

  • Bent Couch (R)

Magistrate - District 6

  • William "Bill" Warren (R)

Constable - District 6

  • Richard Brian Hubbard (R)

Manchester Mayor (NP)

  • James Ed Garrison
  • Steve Collins

Manchester City Council (NP)

  • "Country" Earl Owens
  • Oshua Lane Jackson
  • Charles Dobber Weaver
  • Westley J. Brumley
  • Betty Smith Meredith
  • Russell Gilbert Gregory
  • Whitney Randolph Smith
  • Felicia Pennington-Neal
  • Darnell Hipsher
  • Dorothy J. Sizemore

School Board - District 1 (NP)

  • Anthony Lovett
  • Daniel Henson
  • Dr. James M. Davis
  • Dustin Swafford

School Board - District 3 (NP)

  • Erica Sizemore-Stevens
  • Leewood Cornett

A special thank you to Ms. Beverly Craft and her staff for providing the list of candidates.

Disclaimer:  No endorsements are implied or given.

Previous coverage of this election by ClayCoNews can be found by using the links below:

Clerk releases Preliminary List of Candidate Filings for Local Offices in Clay County, Kentucky 2022 Primary Election