House Republican Super Majority Nominates Jeff Hoover to be Speaker of Kentucky House

Rep. Hoover, R-Jamestown

Move Will Mark First GOP Speaker of the Kentucky House of Representatives in Nearly 100 Years

FRANKFORT, Ky. On Thursday November 10, 2016, Jeff Hoover’s selection as Speaker of the House was assured as the new House Republican super majority voted in a caucus meeting to nominate the veteran laawmaker as their leader.

“I want to thank my fellow caucus members for their continued support and the confidence they have placed in me to lead this group,” said Rep. Hoover, R-Jamestown. “I am truly humbled and honored to be the first Republican Speaker in nearly 100 years.

“Kentuckians spoke loudly and clearly on Election Day of their strong desire for a new direction for the Commonwealth. As Speaker, I intend to deliver the changes that our citizens demand and deserve. Kentucky needs a new tone that leads to a better direction, and as Speaker that will be my main priority.”

Hoover, recently elected to his 11th term, has served as the top Republican Leader since 2001, and will officially be elected Speaker of the Kentucky House of Representatives on January 3, 2017. Following his record eighth-term election to House Republican Floor Leader last year, he is the longest serving Republican Floor Leader in Kentucky’s history. Hoover stands to continue a long family history of service to Kentucky as both his father and mother were elected to the same district he serves, House District 83.

“I want to respect and honor the values and voices of every Kentuckian,” added Hoover. “As Speaker, I vow to bring a bipartisan approach to governing to ensure every Kentuckian has a voice. We have an incredible opportunity to maximize the great potential that exists in the Commonwealth, from job creation, to strong education priorities, to open and transparent government that is accountable to its citizens. My priorities will fully represent the voices of the Commonwealth.”

The new 64 member House Republican super majority unanimously selected Hoover as Speaker-Elect.


Submit Press Releases
[email protected]