U.S. Senator McConnell Secures Nearly $2.5 Million to Fight Drug Abuse in Kentucky

McConnell Mitch

U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) announced today the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) will provide $2,499,828 through the Drug-Free Communities (DFC) program to 20 community programs throughout Kentucky.

As part of a comprehensive approach to combatting the drug abuse epidemic through prevention, treatment, and interdiction, the DFC program awards grants to organizations that fight substance abuse among young people.

Senator McConnell supports the DFC program as a senior member of the Senate Appropriations Committee and secured $106 million for the initiative in this year’s government funding bill, which the Senate passed and the President signed into law this March.

“Recent CDC data confirms that the substance abuse epidemic in Kentucky is entering its worst phase yet. In response, I have helped mobilize federal resources to combat this crisis across the Commonwealth and hosted Drug Czars from several administrations to see the effects of our efforts firsthand. I’m glad the Drug-Free Communities program, which plays a special role in fighting drug abuse among young people, is investing in Kentucky and helping to keep dangerous substances out of our communities,” said Senator McConnell.

The following organizations received funding through the Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Program Senator McConnell supports as a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee.





Bullitt County Board of Education

Bullitt County Partners in Prevention



Butler County Educational Foundation, Inc.

Butler County Drug Free Coalition



Campbell County Drug Free Alliance, Inc.

Campbell County Drug Free Alliance



Casey County School District

Casey County KY ASAP



Erlanger-Elsmere Independent School District

Erlanger-Elsmere Early Childhood Community Collaborative, E3C



Family & Children’s Place, Inc.

Central Louisville Coalition



Gallatin County Board of Education

Champions for a Drug Free Gallatin County



Grant County Schools

Champions for a Drug-Free Grant County



Graves County Fiscal Court

Graves County Agency for Substance Abuse Prevention Community Support Program



Hope’s Hands, Inc.

Owen County Drug Prevention Coalition



Madison County Health Department-Nancy Crewe

Youth Impact Team



Mental Health America Of Northern Kentucky and Southwest Ohio

Mental Health America of Northwest Kentucky and Southwest Ohio, Inc.

Ft. Mitchell


Muhlenberg County Health Department

Champions for a Drug-Free Muhlenberg County

Central City


Oldham County Health Department

Coalition for a Healthy Oldham County



Pendleton County Board of Education

Champions for a Drug Free Pendleton County



Seven Counties Services, Inc.

The Graymoor-Devondale Healthy Community Coalition



Shawnee Transformation Youth Coalition

Shawnee Transformation Youth Coalition



Spencer County Public Schools

Spencer County Community Action Network



The Save Our Kids Coalition, Inc.

Drug Free Warren County

Bowling Green


Wolfe County Fiscal Court

Wolfe County Coalition UNITED Against Drugs





Submit Press Releases
[email protected]