ELIZABETHTOWN, KY – The Kentucky State Police Post 4 in Elizabethtown covers 8 counties. They include: Hardin, Jefferson, Bullitt, Nelson, Meade, Breckinridge, Larue, and Grayson.

The West Region covers 8 post areas. They are: Post 1, Post 2, Post 3, Post 4, Post 5, Post 12, Post 15, and Post 16.

We will continue to conduct traffic safety checkpoints through July, August and the remainder of 2023 looking for impaired drivers, unrestrained motorists, and other traffic violations at various locations throughout our post area.

For the month of June 2023, Post 4 Troopers and Detectives wrote a total of 2,093 citations. We removed 36 impaired drivers from Kentucky roadways and cited 477 speeders. 179 violators were charged with failure to wear a seatbelt and 6 citations were for failure to use a child restraint. We investigated 34 collisions and 186 motorists were given a courtesy notice in lieu of a traffic citation for minor traffic offenses. We assisted 103 motorists stranded on Kentucky roadways and answered over 763 citizen’s complaints. We were involved in 492 special details and conducted over 12 community programs that reached over 14,021 citizens of the Commonwealth.

Our detectives and troopers opened over 54 criminal cases, made 380 criminal arrests, and served over 92 criminal court documents.

Additionally, we conducted over 32 school and business security checks throughout the entire Post 4 area. In total, Post 4 Troopers, Detectives, and Command Staff logged over 7,504 hours of service for the Kentucky citizens we serve.

In addition to the Trooper and Detective monthly activity, Post 4 dispatchers logged over 1,773 data entries while still answering hundreds of calls from citizens in our area.

KSP Post 4 will be operating Road Safety Checkpoints as well as Speed Checkpoints throughout the 8 county Post 4 coverage area in July, August and throughout 2023.

Traffic Safety checkpoint locations in the Post 4 district may be located at our web site:

# # #


Submit Press Releases