Attorney General Daniel Cameron

Kentucky Attorney General Cameron Opposes Handouts for Illegal Aliens

FRANKFORT, KY – Attorney General Daniel Cameron opposed a Biden Administration rule that would provide illegal aliens with federal public benefits.

"At a time when Kentuckians are struggling to afford basic necessities, let alone the exorbitant cost of healthcare, the Biden Administration is catering to illegal aliens," said Attorney General Cameron. "I joined this coalition to ensure that the interests of hard-working Kentuckians who play by the rules are put first."

The Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) proposed rule is a sweeping attempt to redefine commonly understood language to expand public benefits coverage to millions of illegals. In its letter to HHS, a coalition of 17 attorneys general points out the contradictions in HHS's proposal, which acknowledges that aliens present in America as part of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program are here illegally but redefines decades of existing statute to label them as "lawfully present." "HHS's [position] is so illogical that even to state it is to refute it," the attorneys general write.

Moreover, the letter notes that the proposed rule violates federal law, as both the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 and the Affordable Care Act broadly prohibit illegal and non-qualified aliens from receiving any federal public benefit. In short, the Biden Administration is fully aware of the frailty of its argument and the illegality of its proposed rule but is moving forward anyway.

This is Attorney General Cameron's latest action to hold the Biden Administration accountable for their unlawful immigration policies. Earlier this year, General Cameron joined a 20-state coalition to stop a surge of illegal immigrants from entering the United States and challenged a Biden Administration border policy that would incentivize illegal immigration.

Attorney General Cameron was joined by attorneys general from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia in sending today's letter.

To read a copy of the letter, click here.



Submit Press Releases