Trooper Brandon Pierson, Sergeant Jerry Perkins Jr. and Detective Jacob Middleton

Post 10, Harlan Troopers Honored at Kentucky State Police Sworn Award Ceremony

KSP logowhite trim copy 125

HARLAN, KY (September 17, 2023) – On Sept. 14, Lt. Governor Coleman and the Kentucky State Police (KSP) honored 76 troopers and officers who wear the badge of honor to serve and protect Kentucky's 120 with a mission of creating a better, safer Kentucky.

The awards presented were for acts of bravery and service that occurred in 2022. Three troopers from the KSP Post 10, Harlan area were included in those honors.

During the ceremony, KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett Jr. recognized the agency's troopers and officers for going beyond the mission of KSP. In 2022, KSP responded to nearly 400,000 requests for assistance, rescued Kentuckians from the deadly Eastern Kentucky flooding, conducted thousands of wellness checks on those involved in natural disasters and dangers weather conditions, continued in the fight against the deadly drug epidemic, obtained justice for victims, ran into unthinkable dangers, assisted local law enforcement agencies as needed and enhanced public and officer safety throughout the commonwealth.

The three Post 10 area troopers honored were:

  • Trooper Brandon Pierson was named 2022 Post 10 Trooper of the Year. Trooper Pierson is a 2-year veteran of KSP assigned to Post 10 Harlan.
  • Sergeant Jerry Perkins Jr. received the Lifesaving Medal. Sergeant Perkins is a 21-year veteran of KSP assigned to Post 10 Harlan.
  • Detective Jacob Middleton was named 2022 Post 10 Detective of the Year. Detective Middleton is a 7-year veteran of KSP assigned to Post 10 Harlan.

Captain Danny Caudill, Commander of KSP Post 10, Harlan, said "I commend Tpr. Brandon Pierson, Sgt. Jay Perkins and Det. Jacob Middleton for their hard work and dedication to the Post 10 community".

A complete listing of award recipients can be found on the KSP website.

 # # #


Submit Press Releases