U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (American Enterprise Institute)

Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell to Receive 2024 AEI Irving Kristol Award

Washington, DC — American Enterprise Institute (AEI) President Robert Doar announced Tuesday that Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell will receive the Irving Kristol Award, the highest honor bestowed by AEI, on Tuesday, November 12, 2024, in Washington, DC.

“In the history of the United States Senate, there has been no more effective advocate for America, for freedom, for the proper role of the three branches of government and the correct relationship between the federal government and the states than Mitch McConnell,” said Robert Doar. “All of us at AEI are proud to honor this man of integrity and good judgment.”

Leader McConnell is the United States Senate Republican leader and the longest-serving Senate party leader in American history. He served as Senate majority leader from 2015 to 2021. One of the most consequential Republican leaders in recent history, Leader McConnell led a transformation of the federal judiciary—confirming three Supreme Court justices and 30 percent of circuit court judges nationwide while majority leader. He is Kentucky’s longest-serving senator and has been elected a record seven times.

Said Leader McConnell, “I am honored to receive the Irving Kristol Award. This recognition in the name of an intellectual titan is doubly gratifying because it comes from an institution where his example of profoundly influential work continues to thrive.”

AEI’s Irving Kristol Award is given annually to individuals who have made exceptional practical and intellectual contributions to improve government policy, social welfare, or political understanding. Established in 2002 in honor of AEI Senior Fellow Irving Kristol, the accolade replaced the Francis Boyer Award, which had been given for the previous 25 years. Previous recipients include Gerald Ford, Arthur F. Burns, Henry Kissinger, Ronald Reagan, Antonin Scalia, Dick Cheney, Alan Greenspan, Paul Ryan, and Boris Johnson.

This event is by invitation only. For additional information regarding the Irving Kristol Award or other media inquiries, please contact AEI Media Services at  or 202.862.5829.


AEI logo 100

AEI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization where scholars work to expand liberty, increase individual opportunity, and strengthen free enterprise.


Submit Press Releases