Teacher Promise Zone Scholarship Fund Passes out of Committee

DEREK 600Representative Derek Lewis   

FRANKFORT, Ky.  – The House Committee on Education passed legislation that would create the teacher promise zone scholarship fund. Representative Derek Lewis of London sponsors the bill.

House Bill 20 will establish a student loan forgiveness program for certain individuals who are employed as STEM and special education teachers in federally designated promise zones. The loan forgiveness program will be administered by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority, and all costs associated with the program will be funded by creating a trust fund in the State Treasury to provide loan repayment.

The trust fund will consist of state general fund appropriations, gifts and grants from public and private sources, and federal funds.

“I am happy to have the support of my colleagues and hope that this bill will ultimately become a model for a statewide program,” Lewis said. “Establishing this loan forgiveness program will help address the teacher shortage that we see across the state and ensures teachers entering the workforce are doing so debt-free, and fully equipped to teach our children.”

HB 20 will head to the House Floor where it will be considered for passage in the upcoming weeks of 2020 Regular Session. 

To review co-sponsors and specific details of the measure, please visit the Legislative Research Commission website or follow the link here.


Submit Press Releases