FEMA Update Regarding Severe Storms, Flooding, Landslides and Mudslides in Kentucky

FEMA Logo 475

Severe Storms, Flooding, Landslides and Mudslides

Incident Period Feb. 27 through March 14. President Biden declared a Major Disaster for the Commonwealth of Kentucky on April 23, 2021. Typically, the registration deadline is 60 days from the date of the declaration date unless an extension is requested and approved.

Today, our deadline is June 23. The Small Business Administration deadline is June 22 until further notice.

We had nine initial counties with 22 add-on counties for a total of 31 counties eligible for Individual Assistance: Anderson, Breathitt, Boyd, Clark, ClayEstill, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, MagoffinMartin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Warren and Woodford.

As of close of business yesterday (June 14, 2021), FEMA staff have registered nearly 3,000 Kentuckians for Individual Assistance. FEMA officials have approved over $4 million for homeowners and renters, with over $3 million in housing assistance and the remaining amount in Other Needs Assistance (personal assistance). We have issued over 1,300 inspections with around 96 percent completed. We have had paid 149 Group Flood Insurance Policy (GFIP) certificates for a total of $357, 600.

FEMA provides short-term service to help homeowners and renters get back on the road to recovery through FEMA grants for home repairs, temporary housing assistance and personal property assistance. We cannot make residents whole or get them back to their pre-existence condition. We do partner with the Small Business Administration staff who help homeowners and businesses of all sizes with long-term recovery. They can help survivors get closer to their pre-existence condition in the terms of low-interest loans. To date, SBA has paid $2,861,400.00 in low-interest loans, with $2,813,30 to homeowners and $48,100 to businesses.

What is Group Flood Insurance Policy certificates?

To assist in reducing future expenses from floods, FEMA purchases Group Flood Insurance Policy (GFIP) certificates, administered by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), for applicants who are required to purchase and maintain flood insurance but may not otherwise be able to purchase a flood insurance policy. In Joint and State option disasters, the state, territorial, or tribal government (STT) directly purchases the GFIP as part of their administration of ONA.

Who May Get Assistance?

Homeowners and renters who meet the conditions of eligibility and may not otherwise be able to purchase a flood insurance policy.

What are Eligible Expenses?

FEMA may directly purchase a GFIP certificate for eligible applicants who have not previously received the same type of assistance in a previous disaster. No funds are paid directly to the applicants.

Registration Support Centers

Currently, we have three-day Registration Support Centers coming to Clay, Floyd and Lee counties to help individuals register for assistance, answer questions about their case file, scan documentation to their case file if needed. Our specialists will answer questions about our Group Flood Insurance Policy certificates. They can talk with applicants about appeals to FEMA and the process. It provides residents with a safe, face-to face, one on one visit in a COVID-19 environment. We ask that everyone please wear a mask. The Registration Support Centers are from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Survivors may still register for assistance online at, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. They may call our FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362 or TTY at 800-462-7585. Seven days a week from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. until further notice. Kentuckians affected by the disaster do not have to visit a registration center to get help from FEMA. However, it is a convenience provided for those who do not have the means to scan documents to their case file or who would like that one on one contact to get a better understanding of the process.

You can visit any Registration Support Center in any area. You are not required to live in that area. We do ask that you live in one of the 31 counties deemed eligible for Individual Assistance.

Open Wednesday to Friday, June 16 – 18:

Clay County

Clay County Community Center: 311 Highway 638, Manchester, Kentucky 40962

Open Thursday to Saturday, June 17 – 19 for the following two counties:

Floyd County

Floyd County Community Center: 7199 Kentucky Highway 80, Langley, Kentucky 41645

Lee County

Lee County Community Center: 500 Happy Top Road, Beattyville, Kentucky 41311

Locations, dates, and times of the registration support centers are subject to change based on needs or circumstances. Please call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 to check availability.

You should have the following information available to register:

  • Address of the damaged primary dwelling where damage occurred
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Social Security number
  • Your insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account numbers for checking or savings accounts so FEMA may directly transfer disaster assistance funds
  • A description of disaster damage and losses.

For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit

and You may also follow FEMA on and Twitter @FEMARegion4.


Submit Press Releases