Marshall County Selected as a HeartSafe Community

The Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services and the Department for Public Health (DPH) have announced that Marshall County is the most recent Kentucky county to earn the designation of HeartSafe Community, an honor set aside for communities that have met criteria to better respond to cardiac arrests.

Marshall County joins Ashland-Boyd, Bullitt, Clark, Jefferson/Louisville Metro, Jessamine, McCracken, Oldham, Shelby, Warren and Montgomery counties on the growing list of communities working to be healthier and safer places to live.

“Heart disease affects the lives of many Kentuckians so it is imperative that we work together to make our state HeartSafe,” DPH Commissioner Stephanie Mayfield, M.D. said. “We must be prepared to respond to cardiac arrest. I commend the citizens of Marshall County for recognizing the seriousness of this public health issue and taking the necessary steps to become a HeartSafe Community.”

The HeartSafe Community program was launched in the summer of 2011 by the DPH Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program to help communities improve the chances that anyone suffering a sudden cardiac arrest will have the best possible chance for survival. DPH is collaborating with the Kentucky Board of Emergency Medical Services (KBEMS) and the American Heart Association on the project.

HeartSafe communities meet a combination of factors viewed as preferable in a community’s ability to recognize and respond to cardiac arrest. These factors include:

− Early access to emergency care in which bystanders recognize the symptoms of cardiac arrest and immediately call 911.
− Early CPR, a simple, easily learned emergency procedure used when someone's breathing and heartbeat suddenly stop.
− Early defibrillation, the delivery of electric shock to restore the heart's normal rhythm.
− Early advanced care delivered by a response vehicle staffed by advanced life support personnel.

Becoming HeartSafe was important to local leaders and health advocates in Marshall County because of the prevalence of heart disease.

“I am delighted that we have been awarded this honor,” said Marshall County Judge-Executive Mike Miller. “We do realize that heart disease is an ongoing public health issue affecting our community. We will continue to work with programs such as HeartSafe to strengthen our community’s public health.” DPH staff said Marshall County is the latest county to build grass-roots support for cardiac survival through HeartSafe.

“By becoming HeartSafe, communities are showing they are willing to go the extra mile to ensure the health and well-being of their citizens,” said Bonita Bobo, manager of the Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program. “We congratulate the citizens of Marshall County for their commitment to health.”

Approximately 4,600 Kentucky residents die each year due to cardiac arrest that occurs outside of the hospital, away from advanced medical assistance. Typically, these events happen in the presence of a family member or friend.

The HeartSafe Community program focuses on strengthening links within the community that contribute to the likelihood of survival of cardiac arrest.

To become a HeartSafe Community, applicants must review criteria for the program, complete an application, and mail or fax the application to DPH. The recognition is valid for a period of three years and is renewable through the application process.

Communities must apply to be HeartSafe through the DPH Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program.

Applications are available at or by calling (502) 564-7996.


Submit Press Releases