Secretary Grimes Recognizes Kentucky's Civic Education Leaders

On March 21, 2014, at the 2014 Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys' Sweet 16 Basketball Tournament, Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes recognized 12 Kentucky educators and community leaders for their work to promote civic education across the Commonwealth.

“All across the Commonwealth, I have met young Kentuckians who exhibit the values of good citizenship and are enthusiastic about moving Kentucky forward,” said Grimes. “I know that behind them are unsung heroes who have invested their own talents and energy into the success of Kentucky and its youth. This award is a great opportunity to recognize those individuals for their outstanding work.”

The Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award recognizes teachers, school administrators, legislators and community leaders who have made notable contributions toward promoting or implementing civic learning to prepare students to be active and engaged in their communities.

Dr. Marion F. Simon from Kentucky State University in Frankfort received the 2014 Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award. She has been a leader in the agricultural and farming communities for nearly 40 years. Dr. Simon is a professor and coordinator of the Division of Food and Animal Sciences at Kentucky State. She is known for creating The Third Thursday Thing, a hands-on educational program for producers, farming professionals, and home-schooled students.

The other finalists are:

• Roy Pullam (Henderson)
• Crystal Chappell (Greenville)
• Dr. Saundra Curry Ardrey (Bowling Green)
• Hon. Kimberly Shumate (Elizabethtown)
• Mark C. Dobbs (Jeffersontown)
• Dr. Houston Barber (Louisville)
• Hon. Karen Thomas (Newport)
• Amy Smith (Lexington)
• Dr. Benjamin Knoll (Danville)
• Laura J. Cooley (Pikeville)
• Marci Prater (Catlettsburg)

Each finalist received a plaque and was recognized at center court of Rupp Arena, thanks to the Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet Sixteen Basketball Tournament organizers. In addition, Dr. Simon received a $500 award to be used for resources and equipment for her program. Awards and prizes were made possible by the contest’s co-sponsors, the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts and Kentucky Department of Education.


Submit Press Releases