Kentucky Attorney General Daniel Cameron Announces Six Randomly Selected Counties to Undergo Post-Primary Election Audits

Daniel Cameron KY AG 600

FRANKFORT, KY (July 13, 2020) – Attorney General Daniel Cameron today announced six randomly selected Kentucky counties to undergo post-primary election audits. His Department of Criminal Investigations (DCI) will conduct independent inquiries to uncover any irregularities in the June 2020 primary election. 

“Due to circumstances surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, Kentuckians cast an unprecedented number of absentee ballots in the June primary election,” said Attorney General Cameron. “Now more than ever, post-election audits are an essential tool that must be employed to protect the integrity of Kentucky’s elections, and my Department of Criminal Investigations stands ready to do our part by conducting inquires in these counties.”

Kentucky law requires the Office of the Attorney General to administer post-election audits in no fewer than five percent of Kentucky’s counties and to randomly select these counties in a public forum within twenty days of each primary and general election. Because the law prohibits counties from being audited in two consecutive elections, the following six counties were removed from the 2020 post-primary election drawing: Boyle, Gallatin, Henderson, Kenton, Oldham, and Powell.

Today, in a live-streamed drawing, Attorney General Cameron designated six counties for audit including Daviess, Floyd, Monroe, Logan, Simpson, and Cumberland. Upon completion of the audits, DCI investigators will present the results before the grand juries of each audited county, who in turn report the findings to the chief circuit judge.

The Attorney General’s office monitors the Election Fraud Hotline throughout the year, and hotline complaints related to the June 2020 primary election can be viewed by visiting If you suspect election fraud, report the incident to the year-round hotline by calling 1-800-328-VOTE.


Submit Press Releases