Kentucky State Police Post 7, Richmond Enhances Public Safety with Promotion of Troopers and Officers

Promotions KSP Post 7 11 9 22

RICHMOND, KY  – The Kentucky State Police is reporting that on Wednesday, November 9, 2022 Governor Andy Beshear and KSP recognized 31 troopers and officers who have been promoted into leadership roles since Nov. 1, 2021, including one major, two captains, three lieutenants, and 25 sergeants with a mission of creating a better Kentucky through public safety efforts and service to all Kentuckians.

Phillip Burnett Jr 200During the ceremony, KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett, Jr. encouraged the recently promoted leaders to continue leading by example, putting integrity and honesty first and making Kentucky’s safety the utmost priority.

“As I look out at you today, I see leaders who will continually instill the highest levels of professionalism into those they lead,” said Commissioner Burnett. “I see leaders that will ensure those they lead provide public safety for all citizens of the commonwealth. I am proud of the work you have put into this promotional process and look forward to seeing how you will impact this agency.”

Post 7 area promotions include:

  • Captain Jeremy S. Hamm was promoted to major and is assigned to the Office of Technical Services Division.
  • Trooper Heath L. Ayres was promoted to sergeant and is assigned to the Special Response Team.
  • Officer Matthew J. Hutti was promoted to sergeant and is assigned to the CVE Central Region.
  • Trooper Leslie E. Strong was promoted to sergeant and is assigned to the Electronic Crime Branch.

KSP’s focus this year is to maintain and strengthen its essential workforce in order to better provide public safety, maintain critical services and better reflect the diverse communities that KSP serves. For more information about KSP’s commitment of creating a better Kentucky by making the commonwealth’s streets safer, communities stronger and the nation more secure by providing exceptional law enforcement, click here.

Pictured left to right: Matthew J. Hutti, Jeremy S. Hamm, Leslie E. Strong, Heath L. Ayres

# # #


Submit Press Releases
[email protected]