UNITE announces anti-drug clubs of the year

Seven anti-drug school UNITE Clubs across the Fifth Congressional District have been named “Clubs of the Year” for their outstanding efforts and accomplishments during the 2014-15 school year.

The winning clubs are:

• Belfry High School (Pike County)
• Cold Hill Elementary School (Laurel County)
• Hayes Lewis Elementary School (Leslie County)
• Meade Memorial Elementary School (Johnson County)
• Rockcastle County High School (Rockcastle County)
• Rockcastle County Middle School (Rockcastle County)
• Stinnett Elementary (Leslie County)

In addition to a trophy, each of these clubs are allocated an additional $750 from the UNITE Foundation to fund anti-drug activities during the current school term.

UNITE Clubs, established during the 2005-06 school year, increase a student’s ability to resist substance abuse by providing positive role models for other students, building self-esteem, engaging in healthy lifestyles, striving for high student achievement, and creating positive relationships.

During the 2014-15 school year there were 88 registered UNITE Clubs in 25 counties with a total of 7,298 student members.

To qualify for Club of the Year honors, students submitted scrapbooks showcasing their monthly activities, service projects and mentoring activities. Scrapbooks are judged in elementary, middle and high school categories.

“UNITE Clubs raise awareness about the dangers posed by substance abuse not only in their schools, but throughout their communities,” said Debbie Trusty, UNITE Education Director. “The amount of creativity and effort put forth by club members is outstanding.” “One of the core components of a UNITE Club is performing at least one community service project,” Trusty continued. “These projects aim to develop leadership skills and increase students’ awareness of their civic responsibilities.” For more information about Operation UNITE visit their website at<>.



Submit Press Releases