Kentucky Faculty and Staff chosen to participate in Academic Leadership Academy

Members 2023 Academic Leadership Academy

Members of the 2023 Academic Leadership Academy cohort at Transylvania University

FRANKFORT, KY -- The Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education is pleased to announce that 65 faculty and staff representing 18 colleges and universities are participating in Bluegrass Tomorrow’s Academic Leadership Academy (ALA).

ALA fellows will receive professional development training and mentoring by institutional leadership from throughout the state to prepare them for career paths in higher education. Campuses nominated participants based on their talents and demonstrated leadership abilities.

ALA is a project of CPE and the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium, a partnership of 12 colleges and universities in the Central Kentucky region managed by Bluegrass Tomorrow. The academy was expanded statewide in 2019 to provide an affordable career development opportunity focused on the state’s education challenges and successes.

“CPE is very excited to partner with Bluegrass Tomorrow in this effort,” said Melissa Bell, CPE’s vice president of academic affairs and student success. “The program is highly respected throughout the state and focused on strengthening the leadership of Kentucky’s postsecondary institutions.”

The 2023 participants are below.

For more information about the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium and the academy, visit

  • Asbury University
    • Lisa Jones
    • Alesha Graves
  • Berea College
    • Mary Robert Garrett
    • Xiantang Hong
    • Nicholas Daniel Hartlep
  • Bluegrass Community and Technical College
    • Hunter Chandler
    • Ethan Coats
    • Hannah Green
    • Sheldon Sharpe
  • Campbellsville University
    • Elijah Coffey
    • Kevin Propes
  • Centre College
    • Sarah Murray
    • Ethan Gilliiam
    • Meredith Bruner
    • Maria Apostolova-Mihaylova
    • Barbara Hayes
  • Eastern Kentucky University
    • Charles Hughes
    • Laurel Schwartz
    • James Blair
    • Nedim Slijepcevic
  • Georgetown College
    • Emily McCarthy
    • Bryan Langlands
  • Jefferson Community and Technical College
    • Jessica Duff Lord
    • Lisa Eichholtz
    • Betsy Langness
    • Amanda Miller
    • Jessica Newman
    • Jessica Zimlich
  • Kentucky State University
    • Frederick Williams
    • La'Quida Smith
    • TaKeia Anthony
    • Phillip Clay Jr.
    • Tierra Freeman Taylor
  • Midway University
    • Madison Taylor
  • Morehead State University
    • Kenneth Andies
    • Jon Musgrave
    • Kimberlee Sharp
  • Murray State University
    • Donald Adongo
    • Samir Patel
    • Summer Cross
    • Kristin Reid
  • Northern Kentucky University
    • Kristin Hornsby
    • David Childs
    • Charlisa Daniels
    • Sarah Conwell
    • Amanda Andrews
  • Owensboro Community and Technical College
    • Nathan Hirtz
  • Southcentral Community and Technical College
    • Tonya Lanphier
    • Charles David Jones
    • Renee White
  • Sullivan University
    • Erin Snyder
    • Kristi Turpin
  • Transylvania University
    • Tiffany Wheeler
  • University of Kentucky
    • Jake Higgins
    • Kay Shenoy
    • Nathan Vanderford
    • Lisa Enright
    • Akinbode Adedegi
    • Jessica Burris
    • D'lorah Hughes
    • Mehdi Khosravi
  • University of Louisville
    • Krista Ackermann Young
    • Cara Cashon
    • Michael Menze
    • Danna Williams
    • Patriece Campbell-Palmer


The Council on Postsecondary Education is leading transformation in our workforce, economy and quality of life by advancing progress in educational attainment across Kentucky. As the state’s higher education coordinating agency, we champion high-quality, inclusive and affordable postsecondary opportunities that prepare students for civic engagement and sustainable careers. That’s why we are undertaking the 60x30 goal, an ambitious effort to raise the percentage of working-age Kentuckians with a postsecondary degree or certificate to 60% by the year 2030. At CPE, we believe that higher education matters – for everyone.


Submit Press Releases